United States Department of TransportationThe United States Department of Transportation was created by act of President Lyndon Baines Johnson in 1966. The purpose of the Department of Transportation is to create, develop, and coordinate policies to provide an efficient and economical national transportation system. This system will incorporate respect for the environment, regards the needs of the people, and will employ and monitor national defense of the transportation system. This is the primary organization at the cabinet level to shape and administer policies that protect and enhance the safety, adequacy and efficiency of the United States transportation services and system. Your Courier Service serves under the auspices of the US Department of Transportation.

Thomas Jefferson recognized the need for a National Department of Transportation, but it was 92 years later before the official recognition of the Roads Department, which led to the eventual creation of the Department of Transportation. Since 1967, the DOT has managed mass transit functions, incorporated the Coast Guard, the FAA, the Highway Administration, the Federal Railroad Administration, the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation, the Urban Mass Transportation Administration, and, tangentially, the National Transportation Safety Board. It now also houses Maritime Administration, Commercial Space Transportation, and Federal De-Regulation of the Airline Industries.

After the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, Congress responded to the attacks by passing into law the Aviation and Transportation Security Act, which called for the development of the Homeland Security Organization. The Homeland Security Organization, now the Department of Homeland Security, established security at airports and other transportation hubs, and now supported and encompassed the Coast Guard and the Transportation Security Administration. Homeland Security monitors the people and threats of terrorism within the United States from foreign and domestic terrorists. The National Department of Transportation still governs and maintains public transportation through your local Courier Service and other transportation vehicles.